Make Your Way Back

Wherever the path may lead, follow it.

A few days ago, I sent the print order for my initial copies of Community Radio (thanks everyone for your support!). In front of my laptop I paused and closed my eyes, on the edge of tears while I smiled.

I’d envisioned this moment for a very long time.

I’ve been designing TTRPGs for about 14 years now, and I published Community Radio about 10 years ago. And it took me this long to finally make a print run? There are people who come out and make print runs of large games in their first few years!

The opportunity to downplay this great moment was right there, but I avoided it. I know my path hasn’t been a straight line (As my buddy reminded me: “You’ve had a lot of really hard stuff happening to you this decade, so take it easy on yourself”), but it has been my path. So I took that moment to appreciate myself for walking that winding path.

What I reminded myself of (and what I want to talk with you about) is this:

It’s only over when you don’t come back.

Some things you should quit, but if you have something you need to express, then always find a way to come back to it. Yes, even if it’s 10, 20, 30 years from now. Time’s paradox is its simultaneous abundance and scarcity, but I’ve learned that there is more of the former than the latter for what you truly need to express in this life.

Whatever that is, make your way back.

Short and personal this week, but next newsletter I’ll be talking about a fun new concept I’m working on for mapless, player-driven dungeons. See you then!